jump to navigation

Welcome! January 27, 2010

Posted by Katie in Quinnipiac University.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Quinnipiac University is located in picturesque Hamden, Connecticut.   The private university enrolls about 5,700 undergraduate students, 2,000 graduate students, and 550 law students.  The school is rapidly building new residence halls to hold the over 4,000 students that opt to live in Quinnipiac owned housing.  Usually each year the size of the student body grows… but today something strange is happening.

The retention rate for students at Quinnipiac is lower than ever before.  The retention rate of a college is the percentage of students who finish out their four-year degree at the same school.  For example, if the freshmen class starts out with 2,000 students, but by sophomore year only has 1,800 students, the retention rate is (1800/2000) x 100 = 90 percent. College planning sites, such as Princeton Review, report retention rates to prospective students.

Students are withdrawing and transferring to other schools in big numbers.  Why? The academic programs are constantly updating and changing; there are new residence halls being built this year; and construction to expand the cafeteria and student center is well under way – all designed to attract students to the school, not push them away.  The purpose of this blog is to discover why. Why are all of the students leaving? Are they all leaving for the same reason? Where are they going? And what is Quinnipiac doing about it?

Comments»

1. Ex-Quinnipiac Student - March 22, 2010

Students are leaving QU for academic reasons, the policies and the people. Those are some of the reasons why I transferred. My freshman year I never felt like I fit in, most of the students at the university just cared about money and how much they could drink. I spent two weeks with 3 roommates who would drink nonstop… Being an athlete at the school, made it really hard to live with these types of people. Qu felt very closed and I felt like I didn’t have a connection to the outside world. I felt stuck on campus, the food at the dinning hall sucked and was way over priced. I transferred to Northeastern University in Boston, MA, where I feel like I have much more freedom, I am paying the same amount for housing, for a leased property through NU as I paid my freshman year for a room in Commons. NU uses Chartwells as well, the food here is much better and NU also has a better meal plan. The classes at QU were a joke, they were never hard, here at NU I feel challenged and that I am getting what I paid for. My sophomore year at QU the administration made a lot of choices that did not make sense. They cut the men’s track and field programs after they told us that we would be safe… They also cut the men’s golf team. They cited different reason but never gave us a straight answer to why they cut our teams. They decided to push all juniors off campus to York hill or if you were lucky enough you could live in Hill. They put a big statue in the bobcat way, why couldn’t have that money be put towards the athletic teams? Its a shame, I was so excited to attend QU my freshman year, after two weeks I hated it, I wanted to leave. I stayed another year after I told myself that it would get better, but it didnt it just got worse and worse. President Lahey needs to be relieved of leadership of the school.

2. Katie - March 25, 2010

Hey James,
Thanks for commenting! I really appreciate your thoughts on why you left. If you know of any other students who transferred out of QU encourage them to read the blog and comment as well. I would love more feedback. Thanks again,
Katie


Leave a Reply

